NHGRI logo
Fact Sheet

International Nanome Project on Crop Plants and Veterinary Animals

The most important Machine Learning and Biology Research Project undertaking of the 21st Century


International INPCPVA Project Leader: Prof. Sankar Kumar Pal

  • Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize for the year 1990 in Engineering Sciences. (This is the most coveted award for a scientist in India.) 
  • Jawaharlal Nehru Fellowship for the year 1993.
  • Hari Om Prerit Vikram Sarabhai Research Award for the year 1993 in Electronics /Telecommunication  / Informatics /Automation.
  • NASA Space Act Tech Brief Award from NASA Inventions and Contributions Board, U.S.A., 1993.
  • 1994 Outstanding Paper Award from IEEE Neural Networks Council (USA)
  • Patent Application Award from NASA, Invention and Contribution Board, USA, 1995.
  • Distinguished Speaker of IEEE Computer Society (USA) for Asia Pacific Region, 1997.
  • Ram Lal Wadhwa Gold Medal for the year 1997 from IETE (The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers), India.
  • Om Prakash Bhasin Award for the year 1998 in Electronics & Information Technology.  
  • G. D. Birla Award for Scientific Research for the year 1999. 
  • Khwarizmi International Award (1st winner) from the Islamic Republic of Iran, 2000.   
  • FICCI Award for the year 2000-2001 in Engineering and  Technology.  
  • INSA-S.H. Zaheer Medal for the year 2001.
  • P.C. Mahalanobis Birth Centenary Award (Gold Medal) for Lifetime Achievement, from Indian Science Congress, 2005-06. 
  • J. C. Bose Fellowship for outstanding performance and contributions, from the Government of India, administered by its Department of Science and Technology, 2007.
  • Vigyan Ratna Award  for the great contribution to the Nation on Science (recognised as the great tourch bearer of the tradition of glory of Bengal), from Science and Culture Organization, West Bengal, 2008.  
  • P.C. Mahalanobis Memorial Medal from Indian Science News Association (ISNA), 2010.
  • Padma Shri in Science and Engineering 2013 (one of the country's highest civilian awards). 
  • INAE (Indian National Academy of Engineering) Chair Professor, 2013.
  • Diamond Jubilee Medal from IETE (The Institution of Electronics and Telecommunication Engineers), India, 2013.
  • IEEE (USA) Fellow Class Golden Medal, 2014.
  • Prof. S. N. Mitra Memorial Award from Indian Academy of Engineering (INAE), 2015.
  • Raja Ramanna Distinguished Fellowship, Department of Atomic Energy, Govt. of India, 2015
  • INSA Jawaharlal Nehru Birth Centenary Lecture Award for the year 2017.   
  • Distinguished Professorial Chair, Indian National Science Academy, 2018 (One of the highest scientific honors that the Academy confers).  
  • National Science Chair, SERB-DST, Government of India, 2020.    
  • First Prof. C. Mohan Gold Medal Award for Excellence in Soft Computing from the Soft Computing Research Society, 2020.   
  • Distinguished Chair Professor, AICTE (All India Council for Technical Education), 2022.
  • Life Fellow, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (LFIEEE), USA. 
  • Fellow, The World Academy of Sciences: For the advancement of science in developing countries (FTWAS), Italy.
  • Fellow, The International Association for Pattern Recognition (FIAPR), USA.
  • Fellow, International Fuzzy Systems Association (FIFSA), USA.
  • Fellow, International Rough Set Society (FIRSS), Poland. 
  • Fellow, Indian National Science Academy (FNA).  
  • Fellow, Indian Academy of Sciences (FASc).
  • Fellow, National Academy of Sciences, India (FNASc).
  • Fellow, Indian National Academy of Engineering (FNAE).
  • INSA-JSPS (Government of Japan) Fellowship in 1996.
  • National Research Council - NASA (Government of U.S.A.) Senior Research Award in 1989.
  • Fulbright Post-Doctoral Visiting Award (Government of U.S.A) in 1986.
  • Medical Research Council (Government of U.K.) Post-Doctoral Award in 1981.
  • v1
  • Commonwealth Scholarship (Government of U.K.) in 1979.
  • Best Production Award in the 7th World Book Fair, New Delhi, 1986 to his book Fuzzy Mathematical Approach to Pattern Recognition, John Wiley and Sons (Halsted Press), N.Y, 1986.

Last updated: Today before 5 minutes